Google

Hurry To Upload As Many Photos And Videos As You Can To Google Photos

Google Photos

Back in November 2020, Google Photos updated its terms of service. The statement reads that The free capacity limit for users to upload high-quality photos is 15GB. And if this limit is exceeded, you have to pay for more space. If you remember, at that time, Google also issued a statement, saying that the new terms will take effect starting June 1st, 2021.

Many accuse Google in monopoly. Google first launches services for free. Then, after gathering a respectable users base, it starts charging fees. At the moment, there are more than 1 billion users. So this is the “right” time for Google to make it a paid service.

June 1 is approaching. So if you are a Google Photos user and you upload too many high-quality photos and videos to this service, it’s better to upload as many as you can before the “Judgment Day” comes.   

What You Should Know?

Initially, only the “High Quality” photos and videos could be uploaded to the service. If the content you upload doesn’t meet the “High Quality” requirements, you would never get an unlimited free space from Google Photos. So to check the quality of your photos and videos, go to Settings and tap the toggle next to “High quality” under “Upload size for photos & videos.”

Google Photos

On the top of the page, you will also see a notification warning you about an important update to your storage. Click on “Learn more.” If you are logged into your account, it will show how much storage you have left for photos and videos after June 1st.

However, not everything is as a deplorable as you may think. As Google said, “over 80 percent of you should still be able to store roughly three more years worth of memories with your free 15 GB of storage.” Plus, the company is going to alert you when approaching to your storage limit. Anyway, once it happens, Google offers $1.99 per month for 100GB, $2.99 per month for 200GB, and $9.99 per month for 2TB. Honestly, it’s not that much if you are a “heavy user.”

Another option is that Google suggests a new free tool in the Photos app starting in June. Through it, you can more easily manage all of the backed up photos and videos. Say, it will display dark, blurry, and large content. Thus, it will automatically surface useless content. Deleting will free more space.

Cognixion ONE Helps People With Severe Disabilities Communicate Easily
Starlink Download / Upload Speed And Latency Change Everywhere