Facebook

Facebook Alerts What Will Happen If Not Accepting WhatsApp Privacy

whatsapp privacy

From the beginning of the year, Facebook warned that it would update WhatsApp privacy policy. The new policy will allow the app to collect user data in specific markets. Users were getting corresponding notifications in the first months of 2021. The massive change had been expected to take effect on February 8. But there was a huge stir and Facebook decided to postpone this change to May 15.

This announcement has already managed to have a great impact on WhatsApp. Many users moved from WhatsApp to Telegram, considering it as the most secure way of communication. Although it’s not so. So the company’s decision to give itself extra three months is logical.

During these months, Facebook did its best to explain that tracking users doesn’t alter the robust end-to-end encryption that protects chats and calls. WhatsApp will be also collecting data for commercial use (that is to display more relevant ads). Interestingly, Facebook has informed that the privacy policy would not impact WhatsApp users in the UK and Europe. After this, the company gave time until May 15th to accept the new terms. Those who don’t accept new terms may lose access to some WhatsApp functionality.

whatsapp privacy

However, last week Facebook said it is not going to remove WhatsApp accounts if the terms aren’t accepted by May 15th. Thus, Facebook is going to allow using WhatsApp even if they don’t accept the new terms.

What Will Happen If You Don’t Accept WhatsApp Changed Privacy Policy?

The most possible scenario is that Facebook will limit the functionality of WhatsApp if you don’t accept the new terms. Even in February, Facebook said it wouldn’t delete the WhatsApp accounts if they do not manage to accept the new terms. It informed that users can accept them after that deadline. At that time. Facebook said users would be able to receive calls and notifications for a while before Facebook disabled the ability to read or send messages.

“For the last several weeks we’ve displayed a notification in WhatsApp providing more information about the update. After giving everyone time to review, we’re continuing to remind those who haven’t had the chance to do so to review and accept. After a period of several weeks, the reminder people receive will eventually become persistent.”

Also, Facebook adds:

“You won’t be able to access your chat list, but you can still answer incoming phone and video calls. If you have notifications enabled, you can tap on them to read or respond to a message or call back a missed phone or video call.

After a few weeks of limited functionality, you won’t be able to receive incoming calls or notifications and WhatsApp will stop sending messages and calls to your phone.”

Apart from this, Facebook reminds that users can export chat histories because WhatsApp inactivity could lead to account deletion. If users do not use their account for 120 days, the account will be removed.

Source

Check Whether Your Browser Displays JPEG XL
Signal Testing New Option Of Sending 4K Images